More a tortoise than a hare

Well, they do say that a PhD is a marathon not a sprint… The speed of my progress today would testify to that. I’ve felt a little tired all day – not a great night’s sleep and poor hubbie had to get up at 5.45 (so I should probably just stop moaning right about now since I remained put until 8.50am…!). My desk here at HRC is also right next to a heater, though, and it seems to be turned up a bit too high – I’m overheating and I’m in a short-sleeved top – this is not what you expect in February in northern England.

So, with all those excuses out of the way, I turn to my limited reading for the day. I’ve been trying to gain an international perspective for my British Council work today, and so I’ve been delving into the Basque country, two-way immersion programmes in Texas and parents’ opinions on bilingual education in Canada, before forgetting about the international thing and reading about three Chinese ’emergent bilinguals’ (nice term) in London. Actually, that doesn’t sound too bad and I did get some interesting thoughts to add into the lit review.

I also heard back from people getting me into some schools in March and April. Got one in York for April and two in Bury for March (although the proposed dates I can’t do cos I’m teaching) and a potential contact into a school in Keighley through a facebook friend (nice one!).

Actually, now I’ve listed all that I feel better. I have achieved! And now I’m off to a lecture on Conversational Analysis followed by dinner, so hopefully that will make things even better.

About yorkclarabelle

I'm a Senior Lecturer at York St John University in English Language and Linguistics. My PhD focused on teachers' attitudes to working with children who speak languages beyond English. I'm writing papers at the moment on confusing messages for children about their languages and how and when they should use them in school, and about teachers' opinions on language loss. I'm also writing a book chapter on ontologies about 'good' English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment