Transcription exhaustion

I’m back. Apologies for the long absence. My PhD work has been a little on the backburner over the last six weeks or so.

However, I’m back on the case with a spot of transcribing today. I’ve now been into 5 of my 10 schools for the British Council project I’m conducting and an absolutely fascinating range of experiences they provided. I’ve done two of the transcriptions of interviews with staff. The one today was a pretty inspirational headteacher from a local authority in the north-west of England. He spoke to me for 53 minutes (bearing in mind most of my interviews hover around the 25-30 minute mark) so I’m pretty pleased to have finished with that particular transcription. Jeez!

However, he had a lot of interesting points to make and I think a lot of it both complements and contrasts with what others have said, so I’ll be getting on with the rest of those transcriptions soon too. And then I’d best get back to the reading for the lit review as, as yet, I don’t think I have quite the extensive coverage of the issues that I promised! Much to do…

About yorkclarabelle

I'm a Senior Lecturer at York St John University in English Language and Linguistics. My PhD focused on teachers' attitudes to working with children who speak languages beyond English. I'm writing papers at the moment on confusing messages for children about their languages and how and when they should use them in school, and about teachers' opinions on language loss. I'm also writing a book chapter on ontologies about 'good' English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment