Reading about ‘The Scattered’

Well, it does feel a while since I posted. Last week was a crazy week of running between two campuses and marking so not much went down on the PhD front.

However, Saturday I attended an All in One: PhD course run by our Graduate Development Team. All jokes aside (I didn’t finish the PhD in a day…), it was pleasant if a little unstructured. The idea was that it was built around those who were there. It felt more like a fairly general chit-chat but I guess that’s no bad thing, and don’t know what else it could have been really.

So, this week, I’m aiming for four days – what excitement! The first one has gone pretty well. Had an inter-library loan due back on Thursday and hadn’t read any of it. So I read it today! It was only 110 pages long and was a very practical book for the most part, designed for practitioners, but was worth a read as it’s one of the few publications based around isolated bilingual learners and the particular needs they have.

Once I’d finished and took as many notes as I needed to do, it went straight back to the library. And then I randomly turned to an e-book I found today called “They Take our Jobs: 20 myths about immigration”. It’s US based, but many of the points are the same or similar, of course. AND, it’s written by Noam Chomsky’s daughter, so you can’t go wrong…!

About yorkclarabelle

I'm a Senior Lecturer at York St John University in English Language and Linguistics. My PhD focused on teachers' attitudes to working with children who speak languages beyond English. I'm writing papers at the moment on confusing messages for children about their languages and how and when they should use them in school, and about teachers' opinions on language loss. I'm also writing a book chapter on ontologies about 'good' English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment