Wanting my bed again

I’m really tired. I don’t know why – I had a bad night’s sleep on Friday and not great Saturday but should have caught up with the healthy 10 hours I had last night. But I haven’t. Not going to whine and whinge but there it is…

Anyway, I didn’t even get round to posting on Friday and certainly didn’t read the three chapters I’d promised the day before. I did grind that out today though, so still feel on track. Ish.

I got sidetracked because I met with my ex sup (who’s still on my TAG) to talk about the students I’ll be supervising. We moved off that pretty quickly to talk about me. Yay! He’d read my edited MA diss (you may remember my slight depression after emailing it to him before Christmas) – and we both essentially agreed that it wasn’t brilliant, being too small scale. However, he was much more positive than me – he always seems impressed by “good writing” – and suggested a couple of journals where smaller scale research may not be a problem. So taking him at his word and feeling generally encouraged, I then spent the rest of the day faffing around with references to suit a particular journal and eventually submitted online before getting my train to visit my parents.

So that’s my first submission to an international peer review journal out of the way then. I’m very confident it’ll be rejected but think it’ll be good to get some feedback. And, I’ll be honest, I think some negative feedback will be good for me. I’ve basically had no negative academic feedback since starting my MA three years ago and that’s really not sustainable. So bring it on!

 

About yorkclarabelle

I'm a Senior Lecturer at York St John University in English Language and Linguistics. My PhD focused on teachers' attitudes to working with children who speak languages beyond English. I'm writing papers at the moment on confusing messages for children about their languages and how and when they should use them in school, and about teachers' opinions on language loss. I'm also writing a book chapter on ontologies about 'good' English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment